Aerial view of TAMU

Search Committee Members Announced for Provost and VP for Academic Affairs

M. Katherine Banks

January 13, 2023

Texas A&M Community,

I'm pleased to announce that I am appointing a 15-member search committee co-chaired by Dr. N. K. Anand and Speaker Dale Rice to begin our internal search within The Texas A&M University System for the next provost and vice president for academic affairs.

The full list of committee members is below:


  • N.K. Anand, Vice President for Faculty Affairs
  • Dale Rice, Faculty Senate Speaker and Instructional Associate Professor of Journalism & Media Practices

Committee Members (in alphabetical order)

  • Jessica Bernard, Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
  • Alva O. Ferdinand, Interim Department Head and Associate Professor, Health Policy and Management
  • Sarah Franke, HROE Graduate Employment Specialist and University Staff Council Chair
  • Lily Garcia, Dean, Texas A&M School of Dentistry
  • Steve Hague, Associate Director of Undergraduate Research and Professor, Soil and Crop Sciences
  • James Hallmark, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
  • Luz E. Herrera, Associate Dean for Experiential Learning and Professor, Law
  • Jonathan M. Levine, Department Head, Helen McWhorter Chair, and Professor, Small Animal Clinical Sciences
  • Theresa U. Ofili, Instructional Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice
  • BG Joe E. Ramirez, Jr., USA (Ret.), Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Ellie Richter, Student, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Student Government Association
  • Joerg M. Steiner, Regents Professor and University Distinguished Professor, Small Animal Internal Medicine
  • Grace Townsend, Instructional Associate Professor and Director of Chemistry Labs

Additional details and a position description will be available from Executive Searches soon. Eligible TAMUS candidates are encouraged to apply.

The search advisory committee and I recognize this is a very busy time for our campus community, and we appreciate your engagement in this important process.


M. Katherine Banks
President, Texas A&M University