Aerial view of TAMU

Texas A&M University Names Inaugural Presidential Impact Fellows


March 7, 2017

Texas A&M University faculty members advance knowledge through transformational learning, discovery, innovation and impact for Texas and the world.

President Michael K. Young advanced these concepts and their strategic imperative at his "State of the University" address in October 2016, calling on the students, faculty, staff, former students and partners of Texas A&M University to embrace grand challenges, commit to core values and embody the unique can-do spirit that distinguishes our university in service through education.

In support of faculty members who are rising stars in their fields and personify these commitments, President Young and Provost Watson have announced the inaugural class of Presidential Impact Fellows.  Twenty-four faculty members from across Texas A&M University's 16 colleges and schools, two branch campuses and comprehensive University Libraries are being honored with this award.

"Today, we acknowledge a new investment in the excellence of select faculty who through their scholarship, personal commitment and results demonstrate they are rising to meet the challenges of their field and demonstrating impact towards creating a better world," said Young.  "I am proud to name these faculty as the inaugural Presidential Impact Fellows."

The Presidential Impact Fellows program includes the use of the honorific title for life, and an annual stipend of $25,000 each of the next three fiscal years to accelerate each recipient's pedagogy, research and service impacts.  Identified by their Dean and confirmed by academic leadership, these faculty are considered candidates for continued or new national and international acclaim and will utilize this honor to participate in national dialogue, advance their scholarship and create new partnerships.

"This honor furthers our belief that these faculty are and should be considered among the nation's very best and will enable greater recognition for their excellence," said Dr. Karan L. Watson provost and executive vice president.

The 2017 honorees will be honored officially at a ceremony on March 21 and include:

College of Agriculture & Life Sciences:

  • Dr. Bruce McCarl, Regents Professor and University Distinguished Professor of Agricultural Economics
  • Dr. Fuller Bazer, Regents Fellow and University Distinguished Professor of Animal Science

College of Architecture:

  • Dr. Wei Yan, professor, Department of Architecture

Mays Business School:

  • Dr. Sean T. McGuire, assistant professor, Department of Accounting   
  • Dr. Steve Courtright, assistant professor, Department of Management

School of Dentistry:

  • Dr. Chunlin Qin, professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences  
  • Dr. Jian Q. (Jerry) Feng, professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences

College of Education & Human Development:

  • Dr. Jeffrey Liew, professor, Department of Educational Psychology

College of Engineering:

  • Dr. Melissa A. Grunlan,  associate professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Dr. Arum Han,  associate professor, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Dr. Arul Jayaraman, associate professor, Department of Chemical Engineering  
  • Dr. Raymundo Arroyave, associate professor, Department of Materials Science & Engineering
  • Dr. Zachary Grasley, associate professor, Zachry Department of Civil Engineering

College of Geosciences: 

  • Dr. Sarah Brooks, professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences

Bush School of Government & Public Service: 

  • Dr. Kent E. Portney, professor, Department of Public Service & Administration

College of Liberal Arts:

  • Dr. Laura Mandell,  professor, Department of English 
  • Dr. Stephen Maren, professor, Department of Psychology

University Libraries:

  • Mr. David E. Hubbard, associate professor, University Libraries

College of Medicine:  

  • Dr. Farida Sohrabji, professor, Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics

Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy: 

  • Dr. Mansoor Khan, professor

College of Science:

  • Dr. Alexei Sokolov, professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy
  • Dr. Karen Wooley, University Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences:

  • Dr. William Murphy, professor, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences

Texas A&M University Galveston Campus:

  • Dr. Samuel D. Brody, professor, Department of Marine Sciences

Each recipient receives the annual investment, use of the honorific title and a recognition memento of glass art reflecting the synergy of transformational learning, discovery & innovation, and impact formed by Texas A&M University commitments to creating a better world.