Aerial view of TAMU

Provost Search Committee


October 14, 2016

Colleagues and Friends:

I am pleased to announce the creation of the Provost Search Committee. The Committee will engage in a national search to help us fill the critical position of Provost and Executive Vice President. Its membership is listed below. I have asked the Committee to proceed as expeditiously as possible while also broadly consulting the campus community to identify attributes we seek in our next provost. As its work proceeds, please feel free, indeed encouraged to share your thoughts and views with the committee.

Members of the Provost Search Committee are as follows:


  • Dean Pam Matthews, College of Liberal Arts
  • Professor Valen Johnson, College of Science, Department Head, Statistics


  • Dean Larry Wolinsky, College of Dentistry
  • Professor Leonard Bierman, Mays Business School & Speaker of Faculty Senate
  • Professor Rafael Lara-Alecio, College of Education & Human Development
  • Professor Robert Chapkin, Distinguished and Regents Professor, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • Professor Vytas Bankaitis, College of Medicine, CPI Member
  • Professor Jodie Lutkenhaus, College of Engineering-Chemical Engineering, CPI member
  • Professor Heather M. Wilson-Robles, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
  • Professor Sam Brody, TAMU Galveston and College of Architecture
  • Ms. Susan Edmisson, Chair, University Staff Council
  • Dr. Christine Stanley, Vice President for Diversity and Associate Provost
  • Dr. Danny Pugh, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Mr. Tyson Voelkel, President, Texas A&M Foundation
  • Ms. Jessica Rubie, Associate Vice President and Chief of Staff to the President
  • Ms. Hannah Wimberly, Student Body President
  • Mr. Christian Nygren, Ph.D. Candidate, Oceanography

Warm Regards,
Michael K. Young