Aerial view of TAMU

Our Growing National Academy Membership


October 16, 2017

I am eager to share exciting news with you all. Dr. Carrie L. Byington has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. Dr. Byington is one of 70 new members (in addition to 10 international members) the NAM announced today at its annual meeting. Dr. Byington joins a growing list of National Academy members at Texas A&M. Dr. Marcetta Y. Darensbourg and Dr. Ronald A. DeVore, both of the College of Science were elected to the National Academy of Sciences earlier this year.

Established in 1970, the NAM is an independent organization of eminent professionals from diverse fields including health and medicine, and the natural, social and behavioral sciences, who work to promote advancements in education, research and policy. The academy's almost 2,000 active members are selected based on their professional accomplishments and volunteer service.

Over the course of her career as a pediatric infectious disease physician and researcher, Dr. Byington has had numerous career accomplishments including awards from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Association of American Medical Colleges, American Academy of Pediatrics, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the National Institutes of Health.

She has made a monumental difference in the lives of patients, students and faculty she has mentored throughout her years as a practitioner, teacher and researcher. Dr. Byington's passion for the field, and commitment to advancing health and health care delivery in Texas, the nation, and globally, are truly inspiring.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Byington on this outstanding achievement and again recognizing Dr. Darensbourg and Dr. DeVore on their honors as well.

Michael Young