Aerial view of TAMU

2016 PMSA


February 1, 2016

Dear Colleagues:

I am delighted to announce the recipients of the 2015-2016 President's Meritorious Service Awards.  As you may recall, a nomination period was held this fall. From the nominations submitted, an anonymous committee, comprised of representatives from across campus, had the difficult task of selecting the award winners from an extraordinary group of nominees. Many thanks to this dedicated committee for their service.

The President's Meritorious Service Awards recognize and reward staff for their commendable service to our great university. Recipients of this highly prestigious award have demonstrated their commitment to the Aggie core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect and selfless service. To each of them, I extend my most sincere congratulations and deep appreciation for their tremendous efforts to make Texas A&M such a great place to live and work.

Congratulations to the following twenty-five individual staff members and the two teams who were selected as this year's recipients!

Individual Award Recipients
-- Fred Abegglen, Cyclotron Institute
-- Risa Bierman, Offices of the Dean of Student Life
-- Laura Byrd, Civil Engineering
-- Courtney Charanza, Dwight Look College of Engineering
-- Nancy De Leon, HR Employee & Organizational Development
-- Laura Dohnalik, Human Resources
-- Norberto Espitia, Small Animal Clinical Services
-- Lindsey Garza, Enterprise Information Systems
-- Debra Hanson, Electrical & Computer Engineering
-- Monica Hartman, Environmental Health and Safety
-- Terry Lovingshimer, Biochemistry & Biophysics
-- Mark Mielke, Scholarships & Financial Aid
-- Sarah Morris, SSC Services for Education
-- Katherine Nelson, Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital
-- Matthew Pellegrino, Texas A&M School of Law
-- Jenny Ponzio, Biochemistry & Biophysics
-- Rick Powell, Offices of the Dean of Student Life
-- Charles Primrose, Athletics Administration
-- Tillie Rausch, Biochemistry & Biophysics
-- Steven Ruff, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery, Health Science Center
-- Eleanor Schuler, Petroleum Engineering
-- Mary Smith, Chartwells
-- Sarah Tobola, Human Resources
-- Jatan Vyas, Enterprise Information Systems
-- Sandra Williams, Office of the Registrar

Team Award Recipients
-- Comparative Medicine Program Research Animal Technicians:  Mary Beesinger, Mary Benda, Ashley Brizendine, Zaida Cornstubble, Nicole Cravens, Kristy Dowd, George Elliott, Christy Gross, Kristen Hanneman, Gerald Hartmangruber, James Haywood, Melody Huff, Julie Hymes, Sarah Kovar, Mary Lopez, Dawn Mangum, Branton Smith, and Erin Starnes

-- Theatrical Services Team: Blake Biediger, Robb Bush, Moises Cruz, Roy Eubanks, Benjamin Leonido, Arthur Kaml, Allan Minde, Owen Smith, and Rocky Peyton

All University employees as well as Chartwells and SSC Service Solutions employees are invited to the 29th annual award ceremony honoring these outstanding staff members. The ceremony will be held on Monday, February 29, 2016, at 3:30 pm. in MSC Bethancourt Ballroom. A reception with refreshments will be held following the ceremony and will serve as the official kick-off of Staff Appreciation Week at Texas A&M.   

Each individual recipient receives a $1,000 cash award, a commemorative plaque, and a lapel pin.  The teams will be recognized with a plaque for departmental display. Each member of the teams receives a cash award of $200, a framed certificate of recognition and a lapel pin. Awards are funded through the generosity of The Association of Former Students and the program is coordinated by Texas A&M Human Resources. Visit for additional information.

Please join me in recognizing the winners of the 2015-2016 President's Meritorious Service Awards and in congratulating them for their selfless service to Texas A&M University.



Michael K. Young