Pathways-to-Doctorate Fellowships Committee


On January 25, 2021, the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents (BoR) approved actions recommended by the Office of the President, including $24.75 million additional investment in serving our land grant mission in diversity, equity, and inclusion. Actions were informed by the report of the Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Interim president John L. Junkins announced activities and leaders charged with forming teams and beginning work on the approved actions immediately.


The Pathways-to-Doctorate Fellowships Committee aligns with BoR-approved action 4 in the table below.

Leadership Assignments


The Pathways-to-Doctorate Team is charged with helping boost application and enrollment of students from underrepresented populations in Texas A&M University graduate and professional programs, by: 

  • Developing doctoral pipeline partnerships with Texas A&M University System institutions that are complementary to their existing graduate programs;
  • Adding 10 new Pathways to Doctorate fellowships each year for four years;
  • Enhancing programmatic efforts of the TAMU Pathways to Doctorate program that build community and support timely graduation

Team Membership

  • Karen Butler-Purry, Associate Provost and Dean, Graduate and Professional School (Co-lead)
  • Mark Barteau, Vice President for Research, Professor, Chemical Engineering (Co-lead)
  • Benika Dixon ’20, former student, Post-Doctoral Research Associate, Texas A&M Health Science Center
  • Chante Anderson ‘20, PhD student, Communications, Student Rep
  • Karen Wooley, Distinguished Professor, Chemistry, Faculty Rep
  • Michelle Meyer, Associate Professor, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning, Faculty Rep
  • Felipe Hinojosa, Associate Professor, History, Faculty Rep
  • Sandra Acosta, Associate Professor, Educational Psychology, Faculty Rep


Provide an outline to the Office of the President regarding planned activities, timeline, milestones, goals for impact, and budget by March 26, 2021.